2012 Mille Miglia races to an end

May 22nd, 2012

550 events, 550 originals, Porsche AG : , , , , ,

The 2012 Mille Miglia has finished for another year and like previous years it only gets better with both the way it is organised to the fleet of classic cars entered to participate in the greatest modern day road race event. Once again, two of the top ranking entry teams fought it out along each leg constantly changing leads, but only one could be a winner, which was the Scalise – Claramunt team from Argentina in a 1933 Alfa Romeo 6C 1500.

“This was a record Mille Miglia,” the President of the Mille Miglia, Alessandro Casali pronounced “1,400 journalists from all over the world were accredited in Brescia and Rome. 300 of these followed the race on its route plus over 350 professionals – between technical experts and staff personnel – who also covered the race. And we are extremely grateful to the 1,500 volunteers along the route whose extraordinary collaboration contributed to making this year’s Mille Miglia such a great event.”

The Mille Miglia has become a very public and popular classic car event drawing many celebrities and famous people like the President of the Fiat Group, John Elkann with Lavinia Borromeo. Racing greats such as Sterling Moss made an appearance to the event where he set the fastest lap in 1955 reaching the finish after a staggering 10 hours 7 minutes and 48 seconds with an average speed of 98.53mph.

It is estimated over 4 million spectators lined the city streets and country roads to watch the 385 cars leave the starting ramp on Thursday evening during sunset which takes them for 260km from Brescia to Ferrara for the first leg of the three day round trip back. Over 50 cars this year drove the race when they where new, the rest are the same model that raced.

Seven Porsche 550 Spyders and one 550A Spyder were entered in to this year’s Mille Miglia with all but the Porsche Factory 550-04 and 550-10 finishing. You can view more photos of the spyders which participated on the type550 Facebook page. The results for the 550s were as follows:

50th place – No 378, Bruno Ferracin /Filippo Ferracin – 550A-0145
120th place – No 243, Gijs Van Lennep/Jan Peter Balkenende – 550-0045
131st place – No 242, Koen Wauters /Koen Schepens – 550-0089
174th place – No 302, Wim Van Gierdegom /Tom Degres – 550-0016
208th place – No 300, Matthias Mueller /Uli Baur – 550-0064
221st place – No 244, Lars Larsen /Jens Jakobsen – 550-0076
223rd place – No 303, Andreas Pohl /Rainer Wolf – 550-0015
DNF – No 299 – Wolfgang Hatz /Alberto Sabbatini – 550-04
DNF – No 301 – Florian Seidl/Sven Doring – 550-10

Leave a Comment

  • Vintage Racing Posters
  • Today In the world of 550s

  • Subscribe to our updates

    * = required field
  • Categories

  • Select a Spyder

  • Decals For Sale